Geopark Public Talk #4 and #5

27 SEPTEMBER 2021

The 4th public talk on "Custom and Cultural Heritage of Geopark Communities" and the 5th public talk on "Collective memory of geopark communities" have been successfully held on September 12 and September 26 at the lecture hall of the Hong Kong Science Museum. Thanks to Prof. Liu Tik Sang, Associate Professor, Division of Humanities, Director of South China Research Center, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, and the village heads from Kat O, Ap Chau, and Lai Chi Wo took us into the Hong Kong Geopark community and learnt about local customs and dialects, such as the Hakka people and the fishermen . The life anecdotes and interesting stories told by the village heads are fasinating, allowing the public to have a deeper understanding of the rich rural cultural heritage in the geopark community.

New launch of Kat O Heritage Trail

23 SEPTEMBER 2021

Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark launches the Kat O Heritage Trail in collaboration with Kat O Village, further promoting the history, culture and intangible cultural heritage of Kat O and offering an in-depth travel experience to visitors. The trail was planned on the basis of the existing footpath, with the 27 interpretation panels along the route. The trail connects many important historical and cultural relics, guiding visitors in exploring different attractions on the island for a better understanding of Kat O.

Website: https://www.geopark.gov.hk/en/en_s2p06.htm

Roving Exhibition #3 at MOSTown, Ma On Shan

8 SEPTEMBER 2021

The third stop for our Hong Kong Geopark 10th anniversary roving exhibition was just staged with great success. The exhibition has drawn more than 10,000 visitors to date, and the interactive games, geopark check-in points and postcard stamp collection scheme continue to be hot favourites. We are confident that this roving exhibition has helped raise interest in Hong Kong Geopark for more potential visitors.

New Look of Hong Kong Geopark Website

6 SEPTEMBER 2021

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark, we made a new look to the geopark website, streamlined the design and navigation, and integrated frequently used content, so that everyone can use mobile devices or computers to browse the geopark webpage anytime and anywhere to obtain useful information and plans for a journey to discover the world-class natural scenery of Hong Kong.

Website: https://www.geopark.gov.hk/en/index.htm

Roving Exhibition #2 at Olympian City 1

14-17 AUGUST 2021

The second Hong Kong Geopark 10th Anniversary Roving Exhibition drew to an end with great success in mid-August. It was great to see so many new visitors, and we were particularly thrilled to see some old friends who came out to support us once again after seeing the first show. We’re so pleased that the roving exhibitions have done so well. If you missed the first two shows, there’s still time to catch up. The next show is coming to MOSTown on 2 to 5 September. Mark your calendar and see you there!

Public Talk #3 - The Story of Hong Kong Fossils

8 AUGUST 2021

Dr Michael Pittman, Hong Kong’s renowned fossil expert, hosted a talk in the Lecture Hall of the Hong Kong Science Museum. He led us on a journey back to prehistoric times to learn about Hong Kong’s geological vicissitudes over 400 million years and visit various paleontological species that once lived in Hong Kong. The response to the talk was overwhelming, and we had quite a few young participants. We are so thrilled to see that kids in Hong Kong are interested in fossils. We hope this talk satisfied their curiosity.

Public Talk #2 - The Secrets of Hexagonal Columns

1 AUGUST 2021

In easy and simple language, Dr Denise Tang explained the cause, manner, scale and course of the eruption of Hong Kong’s prehistoric volcano, and the formation mechanism of Hong Kong’s hexagonal rock columns. Dr Tang’s presentation enriched the geological knowledge of the participants and kindled great interest. Many participants raised questions, which were answered one by one in detail to satisfy their curiosity. Hong Kong’s hexagonal columnar rock is just one of numerous geo-wonders on planet earth. Curious? All these mysteries are waiting to be explored.

Public Talk #1 - Rediscover Hong Kong Geopark

25 JULY 2021

What else is Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark famous for besides the signature hexagonal rock columns in Sai Kung? Five seasoned geopark guides were pleased to present the geo-attractions and share their impressions of Hong Kong Geopark. There were interactive games to give participants an immersive experience of the geopark, leading them on a virtual tour of sedimentary rocks in the northeast New Territories and Sai Kung’s volcanic rock landforms, as well as the unique wildlife species and colourful local heritage in the two geopark regions. We hope the “Rediscover Hong Kong Geopark” talk gave everyone an in-depth picture of Hong Kong Geopark.

Roving Exhibition #1 at Domain Mall

24-27 JULY 2021

In late July, thousands of people visited our first four-day Hong Kong Geopark 10th Anniversary Roving Exhibition. The visitors had great fun playing interactive games, taking photos at virtual geopark check-in points (with virtual geopark background images), and collecting postcard stamps. We were thrilled to see this debut event enjoy such success. Don’t let the fun stop. The next exhibition will be at Olympian City on 14-17 August. It’s a date! See you there!

Community Seminar and the 10th anniversary programme

11 JULY 2021

Hong Kong Geopark hosted a 10th anniversary celebration programme kick-off ceremony cum community seminar at Hong Kong Science Museum on July 11. All the geopark stakeholders and cooperation partners participated in the event, including geopark communities, non-government organizations, and related government departments. Many of the participants shared their experience in recent cooperation projects with Hong Kong Geopark, and provided valuable opinions and constructive suggestions. The event strengthened communication and cooperation among geopark stakeholders. This exchange of experience and ideas will definitely enhance the sustainable development of the region.

Interactive Showcases ― Discover Hong Kong Geopark

April to June 2021

The exhibition is jointly organised by the Environmental Association Tai Po Geoheritage Centre and the Sai Kung District Community Centre, with support from the AFCD. Exhibition panels and rock samples are on display to present some of the attractions of Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark and visiting routes to provide a general picture of the geopark. Geopark guides will provide interpretations to visitors during the exhibition.

Hong Kong-Hațeg UNESCO Global Geoparks Youth Online Communication

May 2021

A collaborative effort was launched in May 2021 by Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark and Hațeg UNESCO Global Geopark, in Romania, to arrange a three-week online exchange activities for young people in the two areas. It is a great way to broaden our students' knowledge, perspectives and vision, They have learnt about each other's geoparks, city, lifestyle, culture, history and language. To these two groups of young people, who live five time zones apart, it was really a new and extraordinary experience.

地質公園公眾講座#4及#5

2021年9月27日

第4場公眾講座【地質公園社區的傳統與文化】及第5場公眾講座【村長有段故】已經分別於九月十二日及九月廿六日於香港科學館演講廳順利舉行。感謝香港科技大學人文學部及華南研究中心主任廖迪生教授與及來自吉澳、鴨洲、荔枝窩的村長為我們講解有關香港地質公園社區的民俗和方言,認識當地客家人及漁民過去的歷史及生活。各村長親身講述的生活逸事及有趣小故事,令人耳目一新,讓公眾可以更深入了解地質公園社區內蘊藏豐富的鄉郊文化遺產。

吉澳文化徑正式啟用

2021年9月23日

香港世界地質公園與吉澳村攜手推出吉澳文化徑,進一步推廣吉澳的歷史、文化與非物質文化遺產,並為遊客帶來有深度的旅遊體驗。吉澳文化徑以現有路徑為基礎,沿途設置27塊解說牌,貫穿島上多個重要的歷史及文化遺蹟,引領旅客探索島上不同景點,深入認識吉澳。

網頁: https://www.geopark.gov.hk/b5_s2p06.htm

巡迴展覽 - 馬鞍山新港城中心

2021年9月8日

第三場香港地質公園10周年巡迴展覽話咁快就完咗。到目前為止,呢個展覽嘅累計參觀人次已經破萬。展場內嘅互動遊戲、地質公園打卡站同明信片印章收集,繼續深受大家歡迎。相信各位參加者透過今次巡迴展覽,會對香港地質公園有更加多興趣。

香港地質公園全新網頁

2021年9月6日

藉蓍香港地質公園成立十周年的機會,我們將網站作出全面改革,精簡版面設計及流程,整合經常使用的內容,方便大家隨時隨地以流動裝置或電腦溜灠地質公園網頁,獲取實用訊息,計劃旅程,發掘香港世界級的自然景貌。

網頁: https://www.geopark.gov.hk/index.htm

巡迴展覽 - 奧海城1期

2021年8月14-17日

喺啱啱過去嘅7月底,已經有數千名市民率先嚟參觀過我哋首場一連四日嘅香港地質公園10周年巡迴展覽,大家對展場內嘅互動遊戲、地質公園打卡站(虛擬地質公園景點背景照片)和明信片印章收集都非常感興趣。見到首場巡迴展覽咁受大家歡迎真係十分開心!咁好玩嘅活動唔好俾佢停,下一場巡迴展覽將會喺8月14-17日,喺奧海城舉行,希望到時會見到大家啦!

公眾講座#3 - 香港化石的故事

2021年8月8日

香港地質公園於7月11日在香港科學館舉辦「十周年慶祝活動啟動禮暨社區研討會」。會上邀請地質公園社區、非政府組織及相關政府部門等地質公園持份者及合作夥伴分享近年與香港地質公園合作的項目,就香港地質公園未來發展交換意見,並提出寶貴的建議。香港地質公園希望藉這次研討會加深與各持份者的聯繫,進一步推動地區可持續發展工作。

公眾講座#2 - 六角岩柱的秘密

2021年8月1日

鄧麗君博士深入淺出地講解香港遠古火山噴發嘅原因、形式、規模、過程,及香港六角形岩柱形成機制等,相信鄧博士嘅介紹能加深大家嘅地質知識,亦觸發大家興趣。現場有多位聽眾舉手發問,鄧博士都有一一詳細回答,滿足大家嘅好奇求知之心。除咗香港嘅六角岩柱外,地球實在係有數不盡嘅奧秘,等待充滿好奇心嘅朋友慢慢探索。

公眾講座#1 - 香港地質公園深度遊

2021年7月25日

香港聯合國教科文組織地質公園除咗廣為人知嘅西貢六角形岩柱外,仲有咩特色呢?五位資深嘅地質公園導賞員喺講座上透過講解和分享,仲有運用互動遊戲,令現場聽眾喺室內都感受到香港地質公園嘅魅力,例如新界東北的沉積岩和西貢火山岩地質地貌、別具特色嘅動植物和有趣嘅人文歷史等等。希望聽眾喺「地質公園深度遊」講座後,會對香港地質公園有更深入嘅了解和認識吧!

巡迴展覽 - 油塘大本型

2021年7月24-27日

喺啱啱過去嘅7月底,已經有數千名市民率先嚟參觀過我哋首場一連四日嘅香港地質公園10周年巡迴展覽,大家對展場內嘅互動遊戲、地質公園打卡站(虛擬地質公園景點背景照片)和明信片印章收集都非常感興趣。見到首場巡迴展覽咁受大家歡迎真係十分開心!咁好玩嘅活動唔好俾佢停,下一場巡迴展覽將會喺8月14-17日,喺奧海城舉行,希望到時會見到大家啦!

十周年慶祝活動啟動禮暨社區研討會

2021年7月11日

香港地質公園於7月11日在香港科學館舉辦「十周年慶祝活動啟動禮暨社區研討會」。會上邀請地質公園社區、非政府組織及相關政府部門等地質公園持份者及合作夥伴分享近年與香港地質公園合作的項目,就香港地質公園未來發展交換意見,並提出寶貴的建議。香港地質公園希望藉這次研討會加深與各持份者的聯繫,進一步推動地區可持續發展工作。

細味香港地質公園展覽

2021年4月-6月

活動獲漁農自然護理署支持,由環保協進會大埔地質教育中心及西貢區社區中心聯合舉辦,透過展板和岩石標本展示,介紹香港聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園。展覽期間有地質公園導賞員駐場為前來參觀的市民作講解。

香港—羅馬尼亞哈采格地質公園青少年線上交流活動

2021年5月

香港聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園與羅馬尼亞哈采格聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園於2021年5月聯合舉辦一項為期三星期的青少年線上交流活動,藉此提高青少年的科普知識,開闊他們的國際視野。兩地青少年於活動後表示非常享受這次活動,特別是能夠就兩地的地質公園、城市、生活、文化、歷史及語言等進行深入交流,實在是十分新奇的特殊體驗。